Dylan Thomas Day

dylan (1)

Today, Sunday, May 14th is International Dylan Thomas Day. I grew up in Swansea, the birthplace of Dylan Thomas, and naturally I grew up with his poetry. Fern Hill is my favourite poem, lyrical and full of mortality. My grandmother, Dilys Davis, was an actress who worked in both Welsh and English. She was in the first radio production of Under Milk Wood  for the BBC in 1954, starring Richard Burton. She played Mrs Ogmore Pritchard who runs a guesthouse where nobody stays – she is fastidious in her need for order –  and she spends her time scolding her dead husbands.

‘Mr Ogmore. Mr Pritchard.’

‘It is time to inhale your balsam.’

 

One thought on “Dylan Thomas Day

  1. I love that poem Do Not Go Gentle into that Good Night. I think Dylan Thomas was the first poet I really loved that I discovered for myself outside of school. You must be so proud of your family connection to this great man.

    Like

Leave a Reply

